Five Questions for Kanye West Before He Shows His Women’s Collection in Paris

The suspense is killing me. The latest buzz in the blogosphere is that Kanye West is showing his women’s collection in Paris this Saturday. His line will be compared amongst fashion heavyweights including Alexander McQueen, Chanel, and Lanvin. Yea um Kanye, I’m happy for you and all but I have a few questions which I am surprised the media has yet to successfully probe.

1) What is the name of the line?
Is it just Kanye West? I’m hoping it is a little more creative than that, but of course that’s an obvious option. Kanye is the type of guy who enjoys portraying that he thinks outside of the box. He’s drawn to grandeur and artistic aesthetics and best expresses himself in that light as we’ve seen with his last two album covers, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and Watch The Thrown. We need a name Kanye!

2) Who was your muse?
The last time Kanye was responsible for dressing a muse she showed up to Paris Fashion Week wearing a black shearling coat and a thong like string dress underneath.

Women who dress with class can’t easily overlook the Amber Rose era. This was Kanye’s Snoop Dogg moment. Am I to trust a man with my appearance who considers strings thrown together as a dress ?

3) What is the price point?
Kanye is heavily influenced by Celine who’s current ready to wear collection rings up in the thousands. Should I just keep my credit card in my wallet and not even attempt a purchase? Is the collection going to be catered to the European market. I’m hoping our American dollars are enough to afford at least a shirt because it will be a collector’s item.

4) Who is this Katy Eary?
Don’t tell me this is Katy Perry’s alter ego. Supposedly Kanye enlisted a slew of talented collaborators including Katy Eary who is a British Menswear designer. The Cut reports that Katy Eary just showed her first womenswear collection in London last week, so how much experience does she really have?

5) Have you spoken to Lindsay Lohan?
That’s a serious question. We know you as that rapper from Chicago. Through your success, you’ve had the opportunity to travel the world and experience different cultures which all contribute to your artistic outlook. We’re privy to Kanye’s penchant for design as he’s even taken an internship with The Gap, but does he really have the chops to pull it off. Celebrity lines have been tragic in the past. This is a fickle industry that is often about making a quick buck off of a famous name. No one wants to see a repeat performance of cheap pink pasties coming down the runway a la Lindsay Lohan at Ungaro because a celebrity felt inspired.

I still love you Kanye, but I need answers!

About Candace

I am an audience development and social media expert with a passion for economic advancement. I started my career in media 15 years ago lacking basic skills such as negotiating a salary, networking, and generally selling myself for new opportunities. Through a lot of self-evaluation and research, I was able to climb out of the rut of low-paying jobs and garner a salary that is indicative of all the hard work I put in. Too often I hear people like me complain about where they’re at because they are being low-balled or mistreated. I believe we have to take control of our destiny and stop accepting less. This platform is a space where I’ll give you the advice I wish someone had given me long ago.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Celebs, Entertainment, Fashion News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great Questions and I hope he answers each!!

    • Thanks! He probably won’t since he is the super secretive type but I can’t help but to feel slightly afraid. I hope the collection turns out well.

  1. Pingback: Kanye West’s “Dw” Debut — A Parade of Pomp and Circumstance « La:Dolce:Vita Fashion Fix